Cross-border cooperation Bavaria - Austria; application for funding

Cross-border cooperation in the Austrian-Bavarian border region is supported by the INTERREG VI-A program Bavaria - Austria 2021-2027.


European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is an objective within the framework of EU structural funding financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

The special feature of cross-border ETC programs is that the funding priorities are adapted to the needs and potentials of the participating regions. The program "INTERREG VI-A Bavaria - Austria 2021-2027" promotes cross-border cooperation between partners from Bavaria and Austria. This is intended to enable the overcoming of common challenges in the border region and to contribute to the creation of a common living, natural and economic space.

The program pursues the strategy of an innovative, sustainable economy, a resilient environment, sustainable tourism and integrated regional development - embedded in a joint cross-border INTERREG governance.

Funding is available in the following five priority axes (funding priorities):

  • Sustainable economy
  • Resilient environment
  • Sustainable Tourism
  • Integrated regional development
  • Cross-border governance, i.e. the improvement of living and working together in the everyday life of border regions.

These 5 priority axes / funding priorities are subdivided into a total of 7 specific objectives, to which each project must contribute.

Program area: The program region is composed of the following NUTS III regions:

  • Austria
    Innviertel, Linz-Wels, Mühlviertel, Traunviertel, Lungau, Pinzgau-Pongau, Salzburg and surroundings, Außerfern, Innsbruck, Osttirol, Tiroler Oberland, Tiroler Unterland, Bludenz-Bregenzer Wald, Rheintal-Bodensee area.
  • Bavaria
    City of Rosenheim, County of Rosenheim, Altötting, Berchtesgadener Land, Bad Tölz-Wolfratshausen, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Miesbach, Mühldorf, Traunstein, Weilheim-Schongau, City of Landshut, County of Landshut, City of Passau, County of Passau, Deggendorf, Freyung-Grafenau, Regen, Rottal-Inn, Dingolfing-Landau, City of Kaufbeuren, City of Kempten (Allgäu), City of Memmingen, Lindau (Lake Constance), Ostallgäu, Unterallgäu, Oberallgäu

Funding volume: ERDF funding of around €61.5 million is available for the Austria-Bavaria assisted area for the entire period 2021-2027 following approval by the European Commission. The funding rates amount to up to 75% of the total project costs eligible for co-financing.

Regional coordinating bodies in Bavaria: Government of Lower Bavaria, Government of Upper Bavaria, Government of Swabia

Regional coordinating bodies in Austria: Office of the Upper Austrian Provincial Government, Office of the Salzburg Provincial Government, Office of the Tyrolean Provincial Government, Office of the Vorarlberg Provincial Government


Application requirements:

  • At least one Austrian and one Bavarian partner must be involved in a project.
  • The partners nominate a lead partner from among themselves who bears overall responsibility for the project.
  • The project must be assigned to a priority axis and a corresponding Specific Objective (program document see program homepage).
  • The project must have a positive impact on the Bavarian and Austrian border regions.
  • The project must fulfill at least three of four cooperation criteria:
    • joint elaboration (obligatory)
    • joint implementation (obligatory)
    • joint staff
    • joint financing


Before submitting a formal application, the project sponsor must prepare a project outline (see program homepage under "Further links"). On the one hand, the project outline serves as a possible search for project partners (voluntary publication of the project outline on the program homepage), and on the other hand, it is intended to give the Regional Coordination Offices an initial insight into the planned project and to provide them with the opportunity to check for basic program conformity and to make an initial assessment of the project's eligibility for funding.

Applications can be submitted continuously from 29.3.2022 onwards and are submitted online via the "Joint Electronic Monitoring System" (JEMS). After the project outline has been approved by the responsible Regional Coordination Units, the project sponsor will receive a corresponding access authorization to the system from the Joint Secretariat.

After the application has been submitted, the formal and substantive application review takes place in accordance with the project selection criteria.

The Austrian-Bavarian Monitoring Committee decides on the scheduling of projects. As a rule, it meets twice a year and decides independently and autonomously on the approval (subject to conditions), deferral or rejection of the project application. Further, detailed and continuously updated program information can be found on the program's own homepage (for links, see "Further links").

Small projects (total costs up to max. 35,000 EUR) as well as the p2p projects (total budget up to max. 5,000 EUR) are subject to a simplified procedure in the application (see Guidelines for budgeting and recognition of costs in projects with total costs up to 35,000 EUR).


An application (after the prior submission of a project outline) is in principle possible at any time from 29.3.2022. However, the final application documents must be submitted in good time for consideration in the respective subsequent monitoring committee (decision-making body).

Required documents

  • Partnership declaration

    Can be downloaded from the program homepage under "Documents - Project application" - see "Further links".

Online procedures


Responsible for editing:Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie

Contains machine translated content. Show the original content

  • Online transactions, Bavaria-wide
  • Online transactions, locally limited
  • Form, Bavaria-wide
  • Form, locally limited
  • Prefillable Form, Bavaria-wide
  • Legal bases, Bavaria-wide
  • Legal bases, locally limited
  • Fees, Bavaria-wide
  • Fees, locally limited
Bild zur Leistungsbeschreibung

Responsible for you

Regierung von Oberbayern
Sachgebiet 20 - Wirtschaftsförderung, Beschäftigung

Street address
Maximilianstraße 39
80538 München

Show address on map Plan a route by car. ??common.bayernFahrplan.linkText_en_US??

Postal address

+49 (0)89 2176-0

+49 (0)89 2176-2914