Media prizes; award ceremony

The Bavarian state government awards a large number of prizes and awards for outstanding achievements in various sectors. In selected sectors, the Bavarian Minister President can also award an honorary prize.


The state government awards the following four Bavarian Media State Prizes:

Bavarian Film Award

Since 1979, the Bavarian state government has awarded the Bavarian Film Prize for outstanding achievements in German filmmaking on the recommendation of an independent jury, in order to highlight the importance of cinema as a cultural asset. It is endowed with prize money totaling 300,000 euros. This makes the Bavarian Film Prize one of the most highly endowed and coveted awards of its kind in Germany. The prize symbol is the porcelain figure Pierrot from the comedia dell'arte by Franz-Anton Bustelli.

Awards can be presented in the following categories:

  • Performance
  • Direction
  • Screenplay
  • Cinematography
  • Editing
  • Film score
  • Equipment

Separate young talent awards are also possible in the individual categories.

The Producer's Prize is awarded for the outstanding German film with the best overall impression. It is endowed with 200,000 euros. The prize money must be used for the production of a new program-length film.

In addition, the Bavarian Minister President may award an honorary prize. The Bavarian Minister President's Honorary Prize has already been awarded to numerous renowned film greats, such as Roland Emmerich, Margarethe von Trotta, Werner Herzog, Hannelore Elsner, Bruno Ganz, Volker Schlöndorff, Wim Wenders and Mario Adorf.

Eligible to submit nominations for the Bavarian Film Award are the relevant associations, the German Federal Film Board, the Bavarian Film Fund, the Board of Trustees for Young German Film, the Wiesbaden Film Evaluation Board and the jury members.

Bavarian Television Award

The Bavarian Television Prize has been awarded by the Bavarian state government since 1989 for outstanding achievements in German television. It is endowed with prize money, the amount of which depends on the budgetary resources available. The award symbol is the Blue Panther, a figurine from Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg .

Awards are given in the following five categories:

  • Information programs,
  • Television films (fictional),
  • series and serials (fictional),
  • entertainment programs,
  • cultural and educational programs.

In addition, the Bavarian Minister President can award an honorary prize, which remains without endowment. The Bavarian Minister President's Honorary Award has already been presented to numerous well-known television stars, such as Peter Scholl-Latour, Hannelore Elsner, Iris Berben, Helmut Dietl, Thomas Gottschalk, Frank Elsner or Senta Berger, Hape Kerkeling and the brothers Fritz and Elmar Wepper.

Eligible for nomination are:

  • Broadcasters,
  • Bavarian Regulatory Authority for New Media,
  • private providers under the Bavarian Media Act (BayMG),
  • Alliance of German Producers - Film & Television,
  • FilmFernsehFonds Bayern.

The award winners are selected by an independent jury. The conditions for participation are based on the guidelines for the Bavarian Television Award.

Bavarian Print Prize

The Bavarian Print Prize has been recognizing outstanding achievements in the print industry since 2000, underscoring Bavaria's importance as Germany's most important publishing and print media location. This prize, which is unique in Germany, is awarded without endowment by the Bavarian State Government every two years in cooperation with the Association of Bavarian Newspaper Publishers (VBZV), the Association of Magazine Publishers in Bavaria (VZB) and the Bavarian Printing and Media Association (VDMB). The award symbol is Nike, the goddess of victory, a figurine from Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg.

Awards are presented in the following three categories:

  • "Newspaper" category: awards are given for new approaches in the publication of newspaper content and in the marketing of media.
  • Magazine" category: Awards are given to particularly innovative new magazines or successful relaunches.
  • Print" category: Awards are given for high-quality and outstanding print products.

The Bavarian Minister President awards an honorary prize to a person whose entrepreneurial activities have rendered outstanding services to Bavaria as a print media location.

An independent jury of ten recognized print experts decides who receives the Bavarian Print Prize.

Bavarian Book Prize

Since 2014, the Bavarian Book Prize has been awarded annually to the best new publication of the year in the categories of non-fiction and fiction. It underlines the importance of Bavaria as the most important publishing location in Germany and creates awareness for German-language authors, reading and the leading medium of books.

The prize, worth 10,000 euros, is awarded by the Bavarian branch of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association with the support of the Bavarian state government. The prize symbol is a white lion from Porzellan Manufaktur Nymphenburg.

Since 2020, the 'Bayern 2' Audience Award has also been presented as part of the Bavarian Book Prize.

The concept is unique in Germany: on the evening of the award ceremony, a top-class jury deliberates live in front of an invited audience on six nominated titles. Afterwards, the jury members select the best new German-language publication of the year in the two categories 'fiction' and 'non-fiction'. In advance, the three members of the independent specialist jury each submitted two fiction and non-fiction titles and nominated three books from this selection for each of the two categories.

There are three nominations in each of the two categories. The nominees will receive recognition in the amount of 2,000 euros each. The two prize winners receive prize money of 10,000 euros each.

In addition, the Honorary Award of the Bavarian Minister-President can be awarded to an author for his or her literary work. He or she receives a certificate; there is no endowment.

Further prizes and awards of the Free State of Bavaria

Further prizes and awards can be found sorted by topic in the Politics section of the Bavarian State Government portal.

Status: 23.05.2022

Responsible for editing: Bayerische Staatskanzlei

Contains machine translated content. Show the original content

  • Online transactions, Bavaria-wide
  • Online transactions, locally limited
  • Prefillable Form, Bavaria-wide
  • Legal bases, Bavaria-wide
  • Legal bases, locally limited
  • Fees, Bavaria-wide
  • Fees, locally limited
Bild zur Leistungsbeschreibung

Responsible for you

If you select a location under "Localization" the contact details of the responsible authority and, if applicable, locally valid information will be displayed.